The Main Categories of LGV Licences

The main non - LGV (unified) licence categories are:

Category C1

Rigid goods vehicles over 3,500kg but NOT over 7,500kg. Vehicles drawing trailers not over 750kg maximum authorised mass are included in this category

Category C1+E

Combinations of vehicles in Category C1 plus trailers over 750kg maximum authorised mass, but with an overall maximum authorised mass (gross train weight) not over 12,000kg

Category C

Rigid goods vehicles over 3,500kg maximum authorised mass (MAM - thisexpression has the same meaning as permitted maximum weight - PMW). Entitlement holders may also drawtrailers not over 750kg MAM.

Category C+E

Articulated vehicles and drawbar combinations whose semi - trailers and trailers have a MAM greater than those stipulated in Category C

NB: The 'E' relates to trailers and semi-trailers over 750kg maximum authorised mass.

These categories are for drivers who previously held old style ("ordinary") licences (in either Group A or Group B) issued before 1 June 1990 allowing them to retain their previous entitlement under the old style ordinary licences.

Drivers in these two categories are also permitted to drive PCV's provided they do not:

  • Carry more than 8 passengers
  • Use the vehicle for 'hire and reward' work

What will change later in 2021

If you passed your car driving test from 1 January 1997, you’ll be allowed to tow trailers up to 3,500kg MAM when the law changes.

DVLA will update your driving licence record to show that you’re allowed to tow trailers. You’ll get category BE added to your driving licence when you get a new photocard driving licence.

You do not need to contact DVLA for this to happen. It will be done automatically.

Keep up to date with all the Government changes HERE

Safe & Legal Towing Guide Disclaimer